The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

£3.995
FREE Shipping

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

RRP: £7.99
Price: £3.995
£3.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

My favourite character was Dido Belle because she is daring, and wanted to go on with the investigation despite it being dangerous. Many things happen at once, yet it is still possible to take time to enjoy the story and focus on the attempted murders and the murderer themself. The story was exciting and mysterious since until the end it was not clear whether a falling chandelier that almost killed Elizabeth’s father while he was playing Othello in the theatre was an accident or a purposeful act. Also, the details about social life in the 18th century in London such as theatres, and coffee houses depict a vivid scene for the readers. The girls meet up and decide to track down this mysterious figure, becoming involved in the abolitionist movement and the unlawful seizure of Black people from the streets of London to be sent to the Caribbean as slaves.

I liked the book layout which had plenty of excellent black and white illustrations, copies of letters and case notes and decorated chapter headings.

I loved the style of the illustrations, they fit the book’s theme very well and I was drawn to this book by its colourful and intriguing cover. I think that the reason the author wrote this book was to spread the word about Black history, because Lizzie is part of a proud African family, and the slave trade was one of the main themes. I believe that I was in the wrong mindset when I first read this book, being slightly taken aback by the style of writing; evidently it was made for a younger audience. The story provides a backdrop for children to understand the history of transatlantic slavery and its subsequent legacies, with a focus on Black resistance and positive representation.

It was a look at history through the eyes of young ladies who were close to my own age and thus grew my love of historical fiction. Elizabeth Sancho’s and Dido Belle’s eyes meet across the crowds at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane, where Lizzie’s father was about to be the first black man to play Shakespeare’s Othello in a production by David Garrick.

ACT Contact / FAQ About Events / Videos Merch / Subs Sign in/up The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger : Book 1 J T Williams More by this author.

I find this quite interesting as back then there was a lot of racism and the fact that he is on stage is amazing! The main protagonists are two young girls (Lizzie is twelve) who become detectives and try to solve the mystery behind an attack on Lizzie’s father at the theatre. And when their eyes meet in the audience of the Drury Lane theatre one night, both girls are sure they've seen something suspicious on stage. She is passionate about storytelling to give voice to those rarely heard and walks the city to uncover its secrets.Children are launched into the world of Georgian London and follow the burgeoning friendship and investigation of Lizzie and Belle who are determined to solve this mystery. When something life-threatening happens, Lizzie and Belle quickly realise that there’s something more to this case. The fact that it was also based upon my favourite Shakespeare play Othello, also made it an instant hit with me. And when Lizzie’s actor father is nearly killed by a falling chandelier, they both know it wasn’t an accident.

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries is a thrilling book that follows Lizzie Sancho and her new friend Dido Belle as they start to uncover a plot that puts Lizzie’s father’s life under threat. The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger has been shortlisted for the Waterstones 2023 Children’s Book Prize!It’s a fantastic portrayal of life in England in the past, the fight against slavery and the Parliamentary processes to try and stop it. You might imagine, because they are Black, they won’t live in the best conditions: it is the 1770s after all! This was important because it showed how she felt about the situation and how she felt about her father and what she assumed was an attempted murder. The characters were deep, the plot had more twists than a coiled spring with a bounce at the end to tie it in… Then just when you think all loose ends are folded up, it gives you the smash and grab that sets you up for the rest of the Lizzie and Belle Mysteries!



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop